Many people today would argue that cinemas are becoming irrelevant due to new streaming services. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays many individuals choose to watch movies via online streaming platforms instead of going to the cinemas. Because of that, movie theatres become less important channels. From my perspective, I completely agree with this statement. This essay will explain my viewpoints in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. First of all, in a digital world, it is an undeniable truth that there are many streaming services in the global market from both Western and Asian parties such as Netflix, Disney+, VIU and iQIYI which they are now not only offering movies in their platforms but also other types of content like animation, TV series, documentary and variety shows. As a result, many people can enjoy a variety of choices of content at lower prices compared to movie ticket prices at the movie house. Moreover, some of those over-the-top media services are free of charge. Furthermore, some streaming players have started to do exclusive shows and TV series on their platform to attract viewers such as Netflix's original content and special Marvel series on Disney+. Another benefit point of streaming services is that watching online streaming is more convenient than going to the cinema. Firstly, there are many features and tools to support users. For example, individuals can easily select to pause, playback, adjust volume and skip their video, while they cannot do those abilities in the cinemas. Secondly, users can select to watch movies from anywhere via many devices such as smartphones, tablets, TVs and laptops. To conclude, in the present day, people tend to go to the cinema less than in the past because of an increase in the number of online video streaming providers. I strongly agree with this statement as I believe that customers have more choices to select and there are many online contents that can easily access from anywhere at cheaper prices.