Some people say we do not need printed newspapers anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, along with the fast development of the world, the need to quickly receive news is also becoming more urgent for many people. It is argued that traditionally printed newspapers are no longer needed. I totally agree with this viewpoint and will present two reasons for that in this essay. To begin with, the first reason that conventional newspapers are not preferable in present times any more is because of their slow updatability compared to Internet-based news media. They often fail to deliver news up-to-the-minutes as the process for a paper to be printed and distributed lasts relatively long, and by the time a reader has the paper, the information is already old. For example, football fans around the world are updated with a match result during the World Cup games quite quickly just with an update on their mobile phones, whereas newspaper readers have to wait for the next day to be informed who has won the game. Furthermore, the newspaper industry plays a crucial role in damaging the environment and natural resources. The production of physical newspapers requires a large amount of paper and ink usage as well as transport systems for distribution. In order to keep the supply chain upright, for instance, great numbers of trees are cut down and more trucks are used, increasing pollutant emissions into the air and so polluting the environment. As environmentally friendly lifestyles are being favoured by more people in contemporary society, paper-based newspapers are therefore more likely to become obsolete. To conclude, I strongly maintain that paper-based articles are falling into disuse and are not required because news in other media is a more beneficial source of information owing to their ability to be updated quickly and save natural materials.