Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think that it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other objects?

Art has a critical and inherent role in our society, acting as a harbinger and displayer of culture and creativity. It is thus vital that children should be taught art from a young age. Art is a great tool and avenue for children to learn and express themselves creatively. For example, a child taking part in an art exhibition in school or even in college will naturally harness the skills of innovation and creative thinking in the future. Some of the world’s most gifted artists have endowed us with timeless masterpieces while creating landmarks and examples of what happens if creativity is manifested suitably. Alongside, children will treasure their thoughts and passions if they start learning art and artistic skills. At the same time, the artwork will help children understand how to express ideas and concepts. Young minds are highly linguistic and often face issues in communicating their visions and thoughts. With artwork and creative expressions like writing, painting, and sketching, they can display their ideas to the world. This is why psychologists and experts feel that children should learn the art and be exposed to art to boost creativity and mental well-being. Although art helps foster greater creative thinking and mental well-being, it also teaches children to express their emotions. Art should not be implemented educationally at the expense of other subjects. Children should have a balanced educational curriculum without art being given the topmost priority. Other subjects like language, science, and mathematics should be equally taught in the daily curriculum and learning of children to grow up as educated, rational, and free-thinking individuals. They are equally needed for suitably teaching and grooming our future leaders. To conclude, I would like to state that art should be taught to younger children in schools and elsewhere, to teach them creative expression and harness their imagination. However, it should be balanced with other vital subjects in the curriculum for overall development.