Parents and family background have more influence than teachers on a young person's learning and academic achievement. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Adequate planning and timely guidance are required for the upbringing of a child. Everyone including parents, teachers and family plays a vital role in grooming the next generation. In my opinion, although teachers are critical, the major responsibility lies with parents and family, as they spend more time with the young ones. The first lessons of life are taught directly or indirectly by parents and there is always an influence of parents on their offspring. For instance, a young child, his or her parents are the first superheroes. As a result, they look at them as role models and try to imitate their actions and behaviour. It is often noticed that the grit, determination and other soft skills of parents, get inherited by the child and it is due to the close relationship among them. This even leads to the child choosing a similar career path as their parent. Therefore, this relationship sets up the foundation for the success of a young one. Life cannot be accurate without challenges, corrections and problem-solving. The family must set the arena for the young ones to discuss their challenges and get appropriate solutions from adults. Timely mentoring will direct young people in the correct direction. For example, teenagers are attracted towards a plethora of bad habits. Deviation towards these will have a massive impact on the learning and academic achievement of a young person. Hence, the family must stay vigilant and provide suitable guidance to the young one. On the other hand. there is a huge contribution from teachers that cannot be neglected. They have the right to bring the best out of any child in the class. However, there is a limitation for a teacher. To illustrate this better, a student can go to a different grade or school and the teacher will not be able to mentor them for an extended period of time To conclude, parents and family sets the platform for young person education. This includes setting up the expectation, mentoring, guiding and everything else that is required. As a consequence, I firmly believe that the primary responsibility is with the parents and family.