Nowadays studying science at university is becoming less popular among students. Why is this happening? What are the possible effects of this trend?

There are those who claim that modern students are less interested in doing their degree in science and are choosing other subjects. Obviously, there is some tendency and in my point of view, the main reasons for this movement are the lack of supporting programs for research in different fields as well as the highly competitive environment. In the next paragraphs, I will expand on these reasons and provide what are possible effects of that trend. Science is definitely one of the most important subjects in school and an area of investigation in general, however, it requires some specific characteristics of individuals that will choose to do it for the rest of their lives, with such qualities as curiosity, willingness to work hard and not be afraid of mistakes. At this point we already lost the majority, so what happens to those who still are interested, why do their numbers become smaller over time? Well, to find the answer we have to take a closer look at the education process, it is demanding and even discouring at some point. All the basics were already created and to discover something new you have to put much more effort, moreover to make it actually happen you have to go through all bureaucratic procedures to make one small experiment essential to your discovery. Not to stop here, even if one's have done and survived all previous steps, one has to find the funding to cover all costs of their research needs. Looking overall it is hard to find the reason why to do it rather than not, especially when in the modern world there are a lot of easier types of jobs. Turning to the effects this tendency may cause, it doesn't look optimistic, quite opposite. The scariest, in my opinion, will be the pausing of the development of technologies in all spheres but dread consequences, first of all, may appear in medicine and agriculture, causing numerous deaths. Secondly, by not improving our knowledge of science, we could make a step back in order to try to simplify our lives due to the lack of instruments and technology we might have.  In conclusion, although there are statistics which showed that the younger generation is not so interested in science, due to underpaid investigations and demanding work which is required in order to make some valuable discovery, the possible consequences such as a stop of the evolution of human beings are inspiring to make some changes now.