The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Is thought by some people that English, which is now the most widely spoken language in the world, may one day take over all other languages and result in their eventual disappearance. Having one language would certainly have the benefits of better understanding of each other and it also has some drawbacks. One benefit of having a global language will promote communication between different nations as well as individuals. People will be able to communicate easily with other people. Trade between nations will become easy which will result in economic growth worldwide. Having one universal language will remove the need to learn a new language. Furthermore, there will be no language barrier and people will not feel restricted to travel to other nations. Globally, the nations will be closer than before and will contribute to each other economy. On the other side, it will lead to the extinction of other languages which will result in the loss of culture and rich heritage. Our society is made up of multi-cultures and diversity, and diversity has its own beauty. However, the loss of culture will result in a loss of interest to travel to different parts of the world to learn about new cultures. Tourism depended countries will be affected the most by this because their economy is based on the tourist industry. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having one global language, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritized to ensure a rich world heritage for future generations.