Some people get into debt by buying things they don't need and can't afford. What are the reasons for this behavior? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

A few people get into debt because they overconsume items they are not in need of and that they clearly can't afford. This essay argues that the main reason for this phenomenon is the overwhelming advertisement in our modern society whilst a reliable solution would be to impose taxes on unnecessary products. It is conspicuous that people tend to buy a lot, more than they really need. This is because they are consistently exposed to strong advertisements from companies. Indeed, famous brands make huge investments in advertising and also in numerous marketing strategies,aiming to attract consumers.In this regard, advertising consists of making someone buy something he doesn't really need by going through its psychological side. A prime example would be the new trend of getting a whole collection of fragrances. This idea of having many perfumes,each one adapted to each season and each context, was released through social media by sellers. On the other hand, there are viable solutions that may solve the aforementioned problem. A first-rate solution would be to impose a tax on some useless products instead of increasing taxes on merchandise of first necessity for citizens, which will deter buyers from acquiring needless items. It is crystal clear that food and gasoline are consequential for everyone, on the contrary to expensive clothes and fancy articles.In fact, it would be strategic for the government to gain money from these inessential commodities rather than from primarily required goods. In conclusion, the hype that people are exposed to is the main cause of the overconsumption witnessed nowadays.Despite the complexity of this issue, imposing taxes on useless things would be a viable solution. However, households should be smart enough to grasp that a healthy life is ineluctably associated with healthy finances.