Some people believe that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams always succeed in sports. Others think that success in sports depends on mental attitudes.

Sports play an important role in our modern life. Some people think that physical fitness may lead to high achievement in sports, whereas a large number of people believe that solid mental attitudes could bring success to athletes. This essay intends to discuss both views. The main reason why some people say that physical conditioning is crucial for success is that a weak player might not excel in sports such as rugby, soccer and wrestling. Having excellent physical means that the athletes can have a greater competitive advantage compared to other candidates; such as, a thin athlete could run faster than a fat runner due to quick movements. This is one of the main reasons why coaches and trainers require their players to practice daily to build strength and stamina. Even though physical ability has vital to success in sports, mental stability is equally essential, especially when playing in a team. Understanding and coordination among individual team players is also required, which is possible only if the players have a strong and mature mindset. The strategy to win a game demands persistence and comprises efforts and never say die attitude along with a goal-oriented approach. Moreover, the players need to be cool-headed when facing a tough opponent in order to overcome difficulties or reverse the situation where they are at a disadvantage. For example, in the World cup 2022, the Argentina football team was led by their competitors in the first ninety minutes; however, with their patience, they reversed the game and became the champion. In conclusion, I think mental strength is as important as physical strength. The sports person should not only work on their physical fitness but also cultivate the right attitude.