Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

Recently rising food demand worldwide has been brought into focus. This essay intends to discuss the reasons for this growth and proposes some suggestions. There are several causes of increasing food needs. One of the main reasons is the dramatic rise in the global population. Over the last century, the number of people in the world has increased, reaching 8 billion in 2022. Unfortunately, food production has yet to keep pace. Climate changes are happening due to various reasons, namely acid rain, the depletion of the ozone layer and global warming, leading to a decrease in the food produced. Another factor that affects the increase in food needs is the rising income of citizens in developing countries. The more wealthy they are, the more nutritious food they buy. To address this global food shortage, businesses and governments will have to work together. Firstly, the government should invest in new technologies and provide the area under cultivation for farmers. For instance, they could allow scientists to investigate genetically modified foods to fulfil food demands worldwide. In addition, the government needs to participate actively in educating farmers about using such techniques and products. Another step which can go in the long term is to reduce food waste. This can be done by launching international campaigns to raise people's awareness of the consequences of food waste. Therefore, it could educate people to change their behaviours in food consumption. To sum up, there are many reasons for the increase in food demand, however, with specific measures such as the government spending money on researching modern farming techniques and educating farmers or people to stop wasting food, this issue will be tackled soon.