Some people spend a lotf money on hosting birthday paries, family functions and other celebrations. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, due to social media such as Instagram, people want to show off their lives. So they usually purchase luxury goods and spend a host of money on holding all kinds of parties. I want to consider both benefits and drawbacks and say my own view. On the one hand, some individuals believe that, on some occasions such as birthday parties it is worth spending money on. Because you never have been at that age again. In addition, they want to have a memorable memory of that celebration. On the other hand, some other people think that, if you show your luxury parties or post a picture of that on social media, others that can not afford to hold a party the same as you will be jealous. Thus, this issue may lead to they getting depressed moreover they may lose self-esteem. As a result, it has so many adverse effects on people's lives and their mental health. Furthermore,they can donate that payment to charity instead of hosting celebrations. So, helping to needy population is an alternative solution that leads to making them cheerful and enhancing life satisfaction. To conclude, in my opinion, this issue is kind of wasting budget. They can aid individuals who are money is tight for themselves instead of that. As I mentioned before, bad points are more than good points about this issue.