Some people spend a lotf money on hosting birthday paries, family functions and other celebrations. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, due to social media such as Instagram, people want to show off their lives. So they usually purchase luxury goods and spend a host of money on holding all kinds of parties. I want to consider both benefit and drawback amd say my own view. On the one hand, some individuals believe that, some occasions such as birthday parties it worths to spend money. Because, you never have been in that age again. In addition, they want to have a memorable memory of that celebration. On the other hand, some other people think that, if yo show your luxury parties or post a picture of that in the social media, others that can not afford to hold party as the same as you will be jealous. Thus, this issue may lead to they get depressed moreover they may los self-esteem. As a result, it has so many adverse effects on people's lives and their mental health. Furthermore,they can donate that money to charity instead of hosting celebrations. So, helping to needy population is a alternative solution that lead to making them cheerful and enhancing life satisfaction. To sum up, in my opinion this issue is kind of wasting budget. They can aid to individuals who is money is tight for themselves instead of that. As I mentioned before, bad points are more than good points about this issue.