In some countries, it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?

There is no doubt that formal education plays a prominent role in children ’s growing up. While some people believe that it should be starting at the age of four, others argue that children begin their school life when they are seven or eight years old much better. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I support the former. To commence with, it is true that children who start school life at seven or eight years old tend to have more time with their parents, which can avoid separation anxiety. Additionally, some children will sick frequently at a nursery where various viruses are spread widely among their classmates causing parents to need more to take care of them. What’s more, in terms of financial factors, most countries don’t provide free daycare service before starting primary school, so parents have to pay more for the preschool expense, increasing families’ economical burden. By contrast, there are many benefits to starting school at four years old. During their early years, children have outstanding learning capabilities and memory skills. To give an illustrative example, studies conducted by some research institutes show that young brain development starts at four years old, when it could start processing information. Furthermore, the school is a microcosm of the world, here, children interact with their peers and teachers, which could help them grow into well-disciplined and improve their social ability, which is more beneficial for their mental health than only staying at home with family. In conclusion, although starting formal education late will reduce financial pressure, there are numerous benefits for a child to accept formal education in a professional institution, especially it boosts the intellectual growth of children.