It is becoming increasingly popular for school leavers to take a year off (a gap year) before going to university. Do the advantages of this outweigh any disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly popular for high school graduates to take a gap year before enrolling on a university. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the benefits, and I will explain my reasons below. To begin with, students who instantly go to university after finishing high school will focus on taking a course than other activities. Furthermore, students who have big ambitions for their career life, they will have deeper knowledge and skills that prepare them for their future career life. In contrast, school leavers who take a year off will focus on doing other activities, and not focus on their career plan. For example, in Indonesia, students who take a year off usually fulfil their free time by doing unproductive activities such as taking a long trip or just simply enjoying their social life and doing nothing. In addition, university tuition fees are also gradually increasing every year, so it is more beneficial if someone goes to university sooner. In addition, even though students can have extra time to prepare themself by taking a gap year, they could get too comfortable with their condition and waste their time by doing nothing. Therefore, they could be forgotten all the knowledge taught before, and suffer in the process of university enrollment. These circumstances could bring challenges for them to go to university. To conclude, in my point of view, the disadvantages of taking a gap year outweigh any advantages. Therefore, students should be mindful before deciding to take a year off.