Some countries have legal ages at which people can drink. Other countries believe not having strict laws is a better policy. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

While some countries support the idea of having a legal drinking age, others are not in favour of it. The absence of laws limiting the consumption of alcohol to certain ages can be favourable in some regards, but I personally advocate for the imposition of age restrictions on alcohol intake. On the one hand, some nations are reluctant to put in place a legal age for drinking due to logistical and economic issues involved. While implementing such a policy is feasible, enforcing it can be extremely challenging. It is impractical for authorities to have police officers check all parties and celebrations to ensure underage individuals steer clear of alcoholic beverages. Likewise, legal measures may be futile if parents are supportive of alcohol consumption among their children and facilitate it at home. Moreover, some raise concerns over alcohol -related businesses, such as beer and wine producers and distributors, becoming redundant if a legal age limit were to go into effect. This could very likely lead to job losses and financial setbacks. I, however, hold the view that setting a legal drinking age is critically important. When young people have free rein regarding alcohol consumption, they are bound to experience health problems. This is because a juvenile body cannot process alcoholic beverages as well as that of an adult, making them prone to nausea, dizziness, and headaches. In some cases, early exposure to alcohol can lead to organ failure and cancers, necessitating legal safeguards around alcohol intake. There are also social implications to be borne in mind for young people. Underage drinking can give way to alcohol addiction over time, which is one of the common causes of social exclusion and socially unacceptable behaviours such as aggression and crime. To preempt these issues, governments are wise to set an age limit on alcohol consumption. In conclusion, despite the difficulty of establishing a legal age for drinking and the resulting economic problems, countries should do so if they aim to tackle health and social issues stemming from unregulated alcohol consumption.