Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

People sometimes think that advertisement is a good way of convincing the public to buy things but some believe that ads are no longer important to the public. In my opinion, adverts are necessary for creating major awareness in a pandemic situation but they can also provide misleading information and are costly. On one hand, advertising has been excellent in generating emotions from the public. Most of the recent adverts are designed to capture the attention of their customer as well as keep them from migrating to their competitors. A recent article published by Forbes magazine proposed that most public tends to be more inclined to purchase a product that they are more familiar with or goods that are similar. The Pepsi Company is one of the leading brands in advertising because they have been able to attract more customers by using popular and talented Sports men and women. This process has also captured younger audiences and created a wider market for them. On the other hand, the community no longer pay attention to advertisements because they can be misleading and so much information is cramped into a single clip or film. Furthermore, the flyers are becoming more of a distraction than enlightening the nation. In addition, billboards are usually very costly and this directly affects the price of the goods making people go for a cheaper brand from a different manufacturer. In a town such as Shrewsbury, the majority of the population get their food products from Tesco Mall. Each shelf in the mall has a variety of similar products but with different price ranges and the most expensive ones usually have popular adverts. In conclusion, advertisements can equally convince the community to buy a particular commodity but sometimes society bears the cost of these ads. Although they can help retain customers, they are also a form of distraction and occasion pollution to the environment.