Some people think that in order to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately owned vehicles should be banned in city centers, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In the modern eras, many capital cities in the world have suffered from traffic congestion, and there still have been no perfect remedies to tackle it yet. Some people reckon that restricting the use of private cars in urban areas should be implemented, whereas others think it is not possible to impose the ban. This essay will elaborate on both views before my conclusion is reached. On the one hand, a ban on vehicles used in the capital area is an absolutely promising method to alleviate the traffic problem as it reduces the density of roads. With the same size of the road and fewer cars, it is apparent to minimize the congestion. For example, during a prolonged holiday on New year when most of them travel to the countryside, citizens spend only 15 minutes travelling 15 kilometres in Bangkok, which normally takes more than an hour on regular days. In order to travel in the city, people can use public transportation such as subways, buses, and railways instead, which has already been implemented in developed countries like the USA, the Netherlands, Japan, Singapore, and many more. On the other hand, some might think that it is an unrealistic remedy and impossible to boycott vehicles in urban because there are many consequences for the restriction. First of all, individuals who live in an area which cannot access transport will face difficulty in commuting. To illustrate, some villages stay far away from the nearest train station by 5 kilometres. Moreover, the authorities need to invest a huge of money in infrastructure and public transportation to facilitate their citizens, allowing automobiles to enter the city may save this cost and can spend on other beneficial projects. In conclusion, banning automobiles from entering the city has both pros and cons. As I live in Samutprakan, Thailand, which does not have any public cars that pass my house and need to commute to Bangkok every day by private car, I disagree with this view because the government should develop infrastructure and transportation to serve residents before imposing a ban.