Some schools are very strict about their school uniforms and the appearance of their students, while other schools have a very relaxed dress code. What are the advantages and disadvantages of children of having a school uniform?

A number of schools have made it a rule that students must appear in their uniforms meanwhile others do not find it necessary. Although, wearing uniforms confers an identity and a sense of responsibility to students, however, there are a few drawbacks. On one hand, there are a lot of reasons why students need to be adequately dressed. An important one is that it gives them an identity. Meaning that a student can easily be assigned to a school that wears a such uniform. Hence, it can help with the accountability of each student's behaviour outside the school premises. For instance, a high school teenager in the U.S.A. was identified stealing on camera because of his uniform, eventually leading to his arrest and being brought to justice. Furthermore, in addition, wearing uniforms gives some sense of responsibility to school pupils. They not only learn to wash their school wears at home but also iron them adequately so that they can look good to class every day. Therefore, this may eventually become a habit which would help them to maintain cleanliness at all times. On the other hand, the wearing of school uniforms has become outdated. Many school frown at this because they found it too cliche and it is fast becoming old-fashion. Also, some students do not find them attractive so they feel uncomfortable wearing a particular design of cloth to school every day. Additionally, maintenance of uniforms can be worrisome to parents unlike wearing other outfits. That is, consistent wear of the same clothing every day can cause them to fade easily, get torn or expire. As a result, parents might have to be buying new school uniforms at frequent intervals. In summary, the benefits of wearing uniforms to school outweigh its faults. I think school authorities should encourage school children to wear uniforms as this will go a long way in monitoring them.