Every one of us should become vegetarian because eating meat can cause serious health problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Exaggerated meat consumption is thought to be one of the main causes of health issues in modern society, therefore the statement suggests that humans stop eating meat. Although meat contains essential nutrients for the body, this essay strongly agrees with the statement for preferring vegetarianism. First of all, meat consists of important nutrients which work as building blocks in our body, especially when growing up. Consequently, stopping eating meat will put many people at high risk of malnutrition in developed countries and make an increased number of them dependent on insufficient vitamin supplements for the rest of their life. Instead of enforcing vegetarianism, governments can advise and educate citizens about the most common problems related to the issue, such as high cholesterol which leads to heart attack and stroke. For example, schools and community centres can gain more fundings and responsibilities to raise awareness of the matter, in addition to suggesting how to achieve a balanced diet. On the other hand, meat production alone contributes to at least 20% of the total CO2, globally. This, combined with the problems mentioned above makes meat intake a highly unethical action for the environment and costly for the taxpayers. However, without narrowing down the freedom we eagerly fought for hundreds of years, governments can fund projects to make impartial informative documents on the topic, so that consumers can draw their own conclusions, eventually becoming vegetarian for the good of their health and the planet. For instants, the Norwegian government started to provide financial support for organizations that do research and preventive work on diseases associated with certain food and drinks. In conclusion, despite the benefits of eating meat for the human body and the impossibility of actually enforcing vegetarianism, I personally believe that accessible, yet controlled information can encourage individuals to cut down on meat.