In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places, such as bars, restaurants and offices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with banning smoking in public places?

The massive responsibility of making a society a better place to live rests on the shoulders of high-ranking officials. While some argue that the government should impose some strict rules on smoking in public places, I partially disagree with this viewpoint. In my view, equality goes a long way in the world of humans. On the one hand, smoking makes a significant contribution to the development of some respiratory diseases. According to research conducted by a top-rated university in my country, Iran, smoking cigarettes poses a threat not only to the lives of smokers but also to the lives of those who are around them. As a result, this is the massive burden of the government to pass laws to deter individuals from smoking in public places, such as restaurants, subways, and even hospitals. On the other hand, everybody has the right to live freely. The number of people who are addicted to smoking has increased significantly because of the level of stress that residents have to carry due to the pace of urban life. Therefore, if we put pressure on them to avoid doing such a thing, they may tend to engage in antisocial behaviour, such as tension, aggression, and even anxiety, because they get used to smoking to stop themselves from feeling stressed in urban areas. Moreover, the authorities should prioritise everyone's interest, not only ordinary people but also unusual ones. In this way, everybody lives happily. Hence, the government should allocate some private sector far away from others for those who are interested in smoking, rather than imposing on them to follow strict rules. In conclusion, although no one dares to deny the negative effects of smoke on others' health, it does not necessarily mean the government should ignore the minor groups. I strongly believe dedicating separate sections for smokers in public places is the best way to tackle this issue fairly.