Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advance of technology which has resulted in many environmental issues, there have been debates about whether it can reduce adverse effects on the environment or not. It will be discussed on both sides as follows: I side with those who believe that technology alleviates environmental problems. First of all, the emergence of online platforms can arise the awareness of people about problems in their surroundings. By watching some videos on the internet they become informed of such threats as green gasses and water contamination. Hence, they try to avoid them or find solutions to tackle these problems. Secondly, developed technology brings opportunities for nations to invest in renewable energy forms like solar, wind or water power to cope with current problems. Conversely, the people who are of the opinion that life without technology is a better way to come up with environmental matters believe that the simpler life is the fewer problems there are. This is to say that modern technology facilitates many human activities that guarantee sustainable and drastic impacts on our environment. To illustrate, travellers have access to information and the facility of going to untouched areas and expanding urbanization which leads to the production of emissions and exhaust fumes from cars and factories. However, I hold the view that such negative outcomes are overshadowed by mentioned positive points. To sum up, in a technology -focused world which facilitates the flow and dissemination of information, the protection of the environment and finding new alternatives to fossil fuels is a good solution to solve environmental problems.