In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the future digital world, driverless vehicles such as cars, buses and trucks will replace the traditional vehicles that require people to manually drive, meaning that people will no longer need to control the cars as they can all sit as passengers. Some believe that the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages. From my perspective, I am against that statement and this essay will explain the reasons in the ensuing paragraphs. To begin with, the driverless concept could lead to more road accidents. Although those vehicles require high-technology computers and artificial intelligence (AI) to navigate the route and make those cars drive smoothly without people controllers, miscalculations miscalculation and system errors can be founded if those cars run on low-standard roads. For example, some roads in rural areas do not have clear lines to separate lanes, which is quite dangerous for autopilot cars. Furthermore, as autopilot cars need to rely on high technology, they will be chances to get hacked. Unlike manual-driving cars, driverless cars usually need to access the internet to update their programs version or use the internet to navigate the route which might open the room for hackers to do illegal activities with those cars such as stalking, car robbery or even taking control of the cars which can lead to murder. To conclude, some people think that all driverless vehicles will have more positive impacts in the future than negative sides. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with that idea as I think driverless cars can cause more problems than benefits such as road accidents and more types of crimes.