Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and peoms. To what extend do you agree and disagree?

Studying literature, such as novels and poems could be a waste of time or not depending on the person. The reality is, a different students might have different interests and goals to pursue. So, learning literature might not be as important to a student that wants to be an athlete or architect, but would be more important to some who want to be a poet, writer, or linguist. But if we look through the lens of an educator trying to develop a curriculum, literature is a must to learn. That's because human civilization developed through written language. Some of the most influential ideas are written in literature. So it's important for the students to know the most influential works, at least in their country or language. In general, studying literature is not a waste of time. From different, literatures we can learn about the author, the society they lived in, and the idea that influenced them the most. This could also make them understand how the world became what it is today. From that, some of the interesting ideas could influence them for the better. In the end, I disagree that learning literature are a waste of time, but only the basics of that. Learning deeper would probably shift the focus of some students that aren't that interested to pursue a career in literature.