In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is crucial for future generation to be taught that achieving goals require hard effort. While it is advantageous to instil that belief in children, there is also a number of drawbacks. To begin with the positives, we are currently living in a competitive world. Therefore, young students have to exert their best to get high grades in order to have a well-paid job. That's why they have to be taught from a young age that although the world is harsh, they can attain their dreams if they try their best. Moreover, offspring need to know that anything is possible with the right plan and enough effort. For instance, young athletes who took part in the Olympics were one-day normal kids. However, with their parent's encouragement, and strict training, they managed to succeed. As for the negatives, Putting too much load on young people can lead them to rebel. This is because some parents always push their children to study hard to get high grades, for example, or to train as hard as they can, in order to win a sports competition. This can lead them to hate doing their homework or to make excuses to not attend their training. Another disadvantage is that some offspring may feel stressed, or anxious. For example, if some students have a difficulty in education, they can feel that they are not good enough, and they can not meet their parent's expectations leading them to be depressed. In conclusion, although telling heir to try hard enough is beneficial to prepare them for the real world, and raising their self-confidence, there are a number of withdrawals such as rebellious children and causing anxiety to them.