Should a city try to preserve its old , historic buildings or destroy them and replace with modern buildings? What is your viewpoint on this ?

It is often argued whether ancient monuments should refurbish for modern structures or preserve for future. Personally, I agree with the latter view because old buildings are an emblem of distinct culture and heritage. Older sites should be protected because of the reason that these provide us valuable insight about our roots. As a result, people feel a sense of connection with their heritage or background. For example, the Golden Temple in Amritsar in Punjab provides knowledge about community and motivates many Sikh people to visit there daily. Another reason is that many tourists like to visit in older places, which has resulted in the popularity of these buildings. Along with this, tourism gives employment to local people. Moreover, modern generations associate themselves with their culture through visiting these sites repeatedly. These sites contain some older tools also. For instance, the weapons that Sikh's used during war are available in this. Therefore, it is important to take care of old buildings. In conclusion, historic monuments are indispensable part of human lives and these must be looked after by authorities in order to maintain their beauty for long run.