Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, there is a rise in the number of individuals who select to use alternative medicines and treatments instead of seeing the usual doctor. This essay will examine both advantages and disadvantages of this practice and my opinion against that given statement will be explained in ensuing paragraphs. On the one hand, some alternative medicines or treatments could really cure many symptoms with fewer side effects and affordable prices than modern medical methods. Firstly, some people can use local natural products such as honey, chilli and herbs to relieve many basic health problems such as fever and sore throat. Furthermore, there are side effects from taking modern pills such as diarrhoea and stomachache which the patients can avoid by selecting to use other treatments such as healing backache symptoms with Chinese needle treatment or Thai massage treatment. On the other hand, there are many negative impacts of selecting alternative treatments and I believe that the drawbacks are far outweighed by the benefits. First of all, the patients could get hurt or even die from the inappropriate use of alternative medicines. For example, there was a case in the news where a woman refused to take modern pills to relieve her fever from Covid-19 and she took too many natural herbs instead. However, she ended up with kidney failure and finally passed away. Moreover, some symptoms could not be cured by local herbs. To conclude, nowadays people tend to choose alternative treatments to treat their illnesses instead of visiting their usual doctor. Although there are some benefits of using alternative practices, I strongly believe that those measures have more drawbacks than their benefits as they could harm people if they do not clearly understand their health situation.