Online shopping is replacing shopping in stores. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Online shopping is one of the techniques that has grown dramatically in the past ten years, changing the consumption pattern of the whole society. Some of the countries’ physical stores have begun to be replaced by online shops. Nonetheless, I believe the replacement is a positive development. In the essay, I will provide examples and a conclusion of my opinion. The dual apparent advantage of this tendency can be derived from customers and store owners. On one hand, customers who purchase products only need a smartphone. For example, most of the youth buy clothes on online shopping platforms. Moreover, online shopping platforms help/facilitate/assist them to compare every detail of similar products. Therefore, customers can select the best deal when shopping. On the other hand, in the view of shop owners, they are able to save some outgoings of maintaining physical stores such as the rent or the electric bill. As a result, online shopping is a win-win situation for both customers and store owners. In stark contrast, under the trend of vanishing physical purchasing experience, branding will be arduous to be shaped in the short run because of insufficient interaction between consumers and vendors. To be more specific, as an enterprise, how to arouse the awareness of commercial image will become a critical event in the digital era due to low degree of physical touch, leading to the increasing difficulty in winning customers ’ trust. According to research from the prestigious National Taiwan University, people tend to be more rational as well as economical when it comes to product selections due to low levels of loyalty to some specific brands, resulting in higher competition in the business world. Consequently, as a vendor, the phenomenon of replacing physical shopping by online shopping is not a good sign in the long run owing to fierce competition among countless brands. To sum up, it is noticeable that online shopping definitely will substitute shopping in physical stores in the long run because of the inconvenience of physical stores and the expenditure on holding a store for the shop owners. Therefore, I reaffirmed that shopping via the internet offers a lot more benefits than drawbacks.