In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In modern world teenagers have opportunity to take a gap year for travelling or working. Many parent believes that is a great an opportunity to gain knowledge and experience before starting education. However, despite the many advantages there are also downsides associated with such an arrangement. One evident benefit of taking a year off is that it enable greater understanding of our needs in future life. In other words, we can use this time for finding our way and decide what we are going to do after this short break. To illustrate it, majority of young people don’t know what is their strong side or which field of studies they should choose. A result of taking time off is selecting a proper direction. In addition, there are a lot of occasions to earn money. Undoubtedly, period of 12 months is rich in space to try oneself in various professions. Namely, we might be a shop assistant or waiter in the restaurant. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages for having one year break from learning. Firstly, it would mean for some universities that we aren’t appropriate candidate. For instance, our knowledge and ability to learn could be not good as before. It means, that we might have problems with topics and passing exams. Secondly, it is observed that a huge amount of youth persons are not taking any activities. They waste time by not developing. Which can result in a lack of desire for further education. In summary, deciding to start the next level of education later involves many opportunities and risks. It is important to choose your next step in life appropriately and responsibly.