In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

As the saying goes, home is where the heart is, being sheltered has always been one of the basic needs of human beings. Nowadays many people prefer to own a house instead of living in a rented one. In this essay, I am going to examine the reasons behind and review the merits and demerits to reach a conclusion. Several factors contribute to people's willingness to own a house. To begin with, compared to a rented apartment, your own house enables you to decorate your space or even rearrange it based on your own ideas, hence bringing you greater freedom in choosing your ideal lifestyle. For instance, you do not need to get permission from your landlord to change the colour of the wallpaper or the layout of the rooms. Additionally, in some cultures, men are not considered ready for marriage unless they are property owners. Especially in China, it has been a tradition for a young couple to settle the housing issue before getting married and giving birth to a baby, since the purchase brings a stronger sense of security. However, despite the above-mentioned reasons, buying a home is quite negative in many cases. In fact, given the high price level in the housing market, many people have to struggle very hard or resort to their parents to afford the payment. It is not uncommon that many buyers exhaust themselves and even their parents with stressful loans. Consequently, they are tied up to dead-end jobs and burdened with financial debts. Besides, once you settle down by investing in a home, you are less likely to explore possibilities in other cities. To conclude, people are enthusiastic about owning their houses largely because of psychological reasons such as more freedom and a greater sense of security. Nevertheless, in my view, it is not always positive especially when housing price becomes unaffordable. After all, too much financial stress can lead to less freedom and more anxiety.