More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other products. What are the reasons? Do you think this is a positive or negative outcome?

Nowadays, it has become increasingly common for people to purchase clothes, cars and other goods from well-known brands. I believe that this trend has several negative consequences and creates a bad impression. One of the primary reasons towards this trend is because of the development of social media. Some people feel peer pressured of wanting to look their best in front of their followers. One serious problem that can arise from this attitude is that it may cause consumptive behaviour. As the products of famous brands are expensive, some people might have to take loans to fulfil their desire. This means, they can not set their budget priorities, in fact, that amount of money can be used for other things such as education, charity, or personal development. Another potential problem is it will cause social problems in society. In other words, it will create envy in each other and leads to conflict. Moreover, if it happens continuously, it will only create an unhealthy environment to live in. For instance, when someone set a high standard for a product, they will look down on other people who wear regular brands. It will end up underestimating and judging someone else based on the product they use. In conclusion, purchasing branded products has gradually become a lifestyle for many people these days. Instead of being a positive development, I would agree that this phenomenon actually influences many people's lives in a negative way because it promotes a consumptive lifestyle and also creates social conflict.