Question: Some people feel that public money should not be spent on cultural amenities, such as museums, theaters and art festivals. How important do you think these things are to society as a whole ? Are there any areas which are more important for the government to fund.

Many people think that the government should not allocate tax payer's money to local cultural spaces such as museums, theater and art festivals as there are more important sector it could fund. However, I'm inclined to think that it is necessary and will benefit society that the government invest in these cultural amenities. One very important reason that the goverment should sponsor the arts and cultural spaces and events is that this highlights the uniqueness of a country, especially when tourists visit. Cultural places like a local temple, mosques, churches, museums, and theaters are great places for tourists and locals alike to experience the local culture and learn more about the country's history. Therefore, such places is incredible important for cultural identity and educational for visitors and locals. Another important thing about cultural institutions is that whenever they hold events, tourists will travel to the country in droves just to attend the festivals, often spending money on other amenities like hotel, shopping, transport and shopping local food and products. This will contribute to the national GDP and often offset the initial expenditure that the government spent. For example, during new year's celebration, the Thai government spent several hundred thousands on fireworks. This attracted plenty of visitors and media attention thus, earming international goodwill as well. In conclusion, while it is understandable that some of the public might not want the government to spend money on cultural amenities, it is actual a crucial for society as a whole to do so. As it these spaces are tied in with national education as well as tourism and will greatly benefit the country.