Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A number of people claim that a state should straive to produce all the food for feeding its society and try to reduce amount of import as much as possible, while I completely disagree with this opinion. Due to the fact that what I believe is import one of the most important sources of way to supply food. To begin with, trying to grow up all the grains and bring up different food resources may not be possible for every nation which has lived in various parts of the world. To illustrate, there are some countries can not carry out agrarian activities like Finland and Norway. It is known that these provinces are assumed the coldest areas of the world. Therefore, no one can deny that due to the lack of adequate land and inappropriate weather conditions to do agricultural activities, they ought to purchase food to feed their citizens. On the other hand, there are also many parts which can provide nutrition sources for their communities such as mediterrian provinces. For example, İtaly, Greece and Turkey are able to grow up the grain which they need and bring up different types of animals to eat. Not only do these countries ensure sufficient sources to feed their people, but also can export some of their products. Yet, it can be said just limited areas which constitutes a little part of the earth. If all parts of the world had ensured their food sources, it would be possible to evaluate they equal conditions, however it is not. To sum up, although some people believe that every country should produce all the food for its community and import should be held at minimum level, I am not convinced truth of this opinion. It seems to me that import is one of the most important aspects of supplying nutrition to society, because many nations do not have the capabilities to ensure their needs in terms of food.