Some people believe that the advent of economical air travel has been very beneficial by making international travel more accessible,while other argue that it has had a very negative impact discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have a myriad of views about the use of aeroplanes. Although there are good arguments in favour of air travel does increase accessibility among world citizens, I personally believe that it brings more detrimental effects to the environment. To begin with, of all reasons why the use of aeroplanes is beneficial to the community, probably the most significant factor is broadening people's horizons. As we all know, the aeroplane is the most convenient transportation mode to go to different destinations, like the flight from Hong Kong to Sydney, Australia only requires 9 hours whereas it spends more than a month to arrive if choosing a ship. Due to the convenience of flights, the public has greater opportunities to travel to other countries, such as Europe and America. Likewise, foreign cultures are usually diametrically opposed to our own culture, ranging from foods and festivals to customs. Having a chance to visit different places allows the crowd to get involved in another culture and thus their horizons will be broadened and their mind will be opened. Despite the aforementioned reasons that air transportation creates positive impacts on society, I concur that it brings more negative effects to the environment. The first idea popping into my mind is that it speeds up global warming. It is clear that the usage of air transport will emit a large number of greenhouse gases, like carbon dioxide which traps heat in the atmosphere, which is known as the greenhouse effect and causes the global temperature to rise above the optimal level. Moreover, it is predictable that the skyrocketing number of fights will then intensify the greenhouse effect and aggravate the global warming situation. Another point to note is that natural habitats may be harmed. Owing to the alarming global warming challenge, natural habitats might become endangered or on the binge of extinction, for instance, polar bears are suffering from the melting of glaciers. Hence, the biodiversity will in turn be narrowed as well as hindering the natural food chain. In a nutshell, although travelling by plane gives chances to the general public to widen their visions by getting in touch with different cultures, I entirely believe that we should not overlook that it brings harmful impacts to our climate and species.