In most countries, despite the benefits of cycling, fewer and fewer people are using bicycles as a means of transportation. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

A bicycle is a good transportation option, however, many people prefer vehicles or walking to cycling. I believe that there is a relationship between countries' economical situation and the population's choices. Improvements in the economy would increase the number of people who use bicycles. There are a lot of reasons to community use it less and one of these problems is there are not enough bicycle roads so, this activity becomes dangerous in many regions. If people ride in cars, it'd be dangerous for both cars and cycles. Some population walk halfway and ride the other part but this could be tiring for many people. Especially, the populations from poor countries are working for long hours and they don't have enough energy to do sports. They prefer to arrive at their house, as fast as possible. Also, while the weather is nice and in a safe environment, cycling could be fun and cheap, otherwise it would become an exhausting activity. People prefer public transport or individual cars more when the weather is cold, hot or rainy. Moreover, most streets are not safe. For example, people always have to lock their bicycles or they might have been stolen. Government should solve this problem. If the economy gets improved and provides safety to their citizens, they would care for the environment and themselves more. Now, because of their economical situation, many families try to survive. They don't have any worries about the planet or their future because they can not provide for their basic needs. If we compare Turkey and Holland, Holland is safe, society's incomes are high and a lot of the population is using their bicycles. In the contrast, streets in Turkey are not safe, people can not afford a bicycle so many crowds have used public transport. To sum up, cycling could be beneficial for individuals and the planet but there are bigger problems such as work conditions, economic situations and the environment. If authorities solve these problems, probably the cycling rate would be increased.