The alarming rise of sexual assault in the country has led to calls for the death penalty to be imposed by law, but there are some who think those rapists should be made to suffer for life. What is your opinion on this point?

The rise in sexual violence is disheartening,to say the least. It is necessary for a society to punish offenders so as for them to atone for their actions and also for others to be deterred. I agree with the suggestion that capital punishment is meted out on convicted rapists. The need to remove bad elements from society and the effectiveness of the death penalty as a deterrent go far in shaping my opinion. Over time it has been shown that most sexual offences are committed by persons who are described as predators. Much like in the wild, these offenders prey on the vulnerable members of society, taking advantage of situations to get what they want. Victims are left scarred and traumatised for wever, while the rapist s free to commit the crime again. Going to jail does not remove the threat that this predator could harm another victim again. Life sentences can be commuted, paroles and pardons granted giving the predator an opportunity to strike again. Capital punishment puts an end to that speculation The act of execution itself, the killing of another person, is bound to instil fear in any would-be offenders. The threat that a loss of sexual self-control could result in the end of one's life may encourage would-be rapists to not commit this heinous crime. In addition to this, the death penalty would save funds that would be otherwise used to maintain a convicted rapist. In conclusion, the death penalty remains the best way to deal with rapists as opposed to long periods of expensive incarceration.