Some people say the main purpose of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the pursuit of abundance, people tend to spend money unconsciously on items they don’t need. Some blame this behaviour on advertisements, however, advertising is not the real culprit. What companies are really conveying to the consumers through the advertisements are the suggestions that consumers should buy their products instead of others. Consequently, advertisements are utilized by producers in need of attention to show their products’ properties and strengths over their substitutes. For example, some laptops feature their functions while others’ prices are lower, and customers would only choose models that cater to their needs the most rather than buying more than one laptop. Still, some people would argue that it is these promotions of certain characteristics that urge waste because, under fierce competition, companies would deliberately develop upgrades that are appealing to the buyers but seem likely to make only a marginal difference in the improvements of user experiences. But the reality is that the majority of customers have already developed immunity to these campaigns for attention after years of exposure to all kinds of advertisements. Actually, only those who want to project prestige or social status through material possessions will continuously follow the latest trend. These groups of people are apparently the most vulnerable to advertisements. Fortunately, they only constitute a small fraction of all the customers. In most occasions, consumers are restricted by their budget, meaning that they don’t always have the chance of being persuaded by any kind of promotion tactic. In conclusion, by introducing novel products to the market, advertisements are trying to distinguish themselves from others instead of advocating for excessive consumption. Consumers’ own choice and judgement is the only factor determining whether they are making superfluous purchases or not.