News / Media has an influence on our life and some people think it can have a negative effect. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

From FM Radio to the Newspaper and TV to social media we consume data every day. This consumption affects our thought process in a voluntary or involuntarily manner which might alter the perception of any new information we receive. Referencing the works of George Orwell, it was Big Brother - a central authority in London who controlled his countrymen through tight control of the media. Before commencement of the World War 2, Hiter had controlled the narrative of his agenda through print and visual media. Over the years news and media has been evolved into digital media which we gather from either home-held televisions or smartphones. With,touch we can access millions of terabytes of information on the go. Earlier news companies like New York Times, Washington Journal etc. were independent, bold and readers centric. This is because of the subscription model package through which these companies attract more news readers. Furthermore, due to the fierce competition, these companies focussed more on editorials, quality news reporting and investigations for their new content in their journals. This all changed after the commencement of the digital age. People started focussing more on aesthetics rather than any novelty in news or media which led to the recruitment of designers rather than reporters. Fueled with mushrooms of small outlets opening their own media channels, they provided media to users with cheap plans or sometimes made their content free of cost. This cost these old media companies huge losses and most of them got sold to larger corporations like E-giants Amazon and Facebook. This is troublesome, as in the past we had known that big powers like the government or large private entities had meddled in these sectors for their propaganda or to change the public perception. Once NYT had reported against Amazon for improper employee management and times in their supply chain department. Now, after the hostile takeover of NYT by Amazon, we don't see any investigative articles from the news company. Their monopoly in each and every sector of the market and especially in the news and media sector is frightening. Hence, news / media has an influence on our life and it can have a negative effect.