In some countries, some young people decide to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In this day and age, many young people choose to take a gap year before studying at university or college. It is my firm belief that the demerits of this trend are more considerable than the merits. On the one hand, taking a gap year can have certain upsides. The first benefit is that young people will have more experience after spending time travelling or working. The main reason for this is that they can obtain knowledge that schools and universities do not teach. For example, when they travel to new places, they can learn about the cultures and the people in those places. The second benefit is that when working, they can earn money. This amount of money can be used to pay costs such as food, water and electricity. Also, they can save money to pay for tuition fees when they come back to university. On the other hand, I personally think that the downsides of working or travelling for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies are more significant. To begin with, after the time that students go to work or travel, they may not want to come back to university because they may find travelling or earning money more interesting. As a consequence, this will make students lose their learning motivation. They only want to be free when they go to work or travel rather than go to university. Moreover, when students come back to university, they can fall behind with study. The main reason is that they may compare themselves with their friends who have studied for one year. Besides, they will forget a lot of their knowledge when coming back to university because they have spent a long time working or travelling. In conclusion, although young people deciding to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies has several good points, it is my firm belief that the bad points are weightier.