With the improvements in today’s health care, society has to care for more and more elderly people. Do you feel that society will be able to cope with the increase in numbers of elderly people today and how can it be managed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the development of health care, there is a high chance of providing beneficial treatment for a greater number of the elderly population. The ability of society to cope with the rising numbers of the old generation and how it can be managed will be discussed thoroughly in this essay. Caring and compassion should be taught since childhood in order to reform responsible and compassionate adults in the future. If the children see that ageing and becoming sick is a normal process in life, they will become adults with more compassion.  Community education on proper ways of responsibility and the development of geriatric care facilities should be initiated because some patients may need constant supervision and care that the children/caretakers may not be able to provide. The government and voluntary organizations should come forward to provide assistance like providing hospice care or giving funding. In my motherland, the majority of health care is free of cost and there are special discounts and financial aids if the patient is in geriatric care. This has enabled both parties in giving and receiving proper care. Of course, there are always going to be people who would misuse the funding and use it to their benefit so to prevent that strict rules and regulations must be implemented and should be punished accordingly. So, overall, the ability of society to cope with the growing numbers of older generations is manageable with a few adjustments for the betterment of the future and the community should be encouraged to normalize caring elders.