Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

The preference of major in university has changed from science study to others in the last several decades in numerous countries. This new phenomenon is caused by several reasons and has an impact on society that will be discussed more in this essay. It is a new fact that people prefer to study management, art or economic studies rather than medical, mathematic or engineering subjects because of their high difficulty level to finish the study. In science major, the students need consistency, discipline and patience to verify some experiments which are mostly needed to pass the final exam. Therefore, some science courses take a longer period for graduation. Furthermore, the job opportunities are more restricted for scientists, which makes limited employment. For example, electrical engineers can only work in factories, but economists can be hired in the industrial, education, or government sectors. This switching trend causes the decrease in science experts who play essential role in country life. Moreover, a decline of scientists leads to the slowdown in technology and medicine development. For example, in the last pandemic era, the limited number of doctors and nurses was the most concerning thing because there were many infected people who should be treated by them. In addition, more graduate students in the particular fields will soar and will induce an incline in the rate of unemployment. The Increasing rate number of unemployment due to employment imbalance will burden the state finances. In conclusion, lately, many people tend to avoid science subjects because of the complexity and job possibilities. This trend has brought about the instability of employment rate and role which will be a new problem of state welfare.