There are more forms of study nowadays. Among them, Online teaching and learning has become popular. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

In recent times, the education sector has seen massive growth over the span of 40 years especially in India. As the government is emphasizing the production of more government-funded institutes like IITs, NITs, AIMs and IIMs etc., coaching institutes are emerging like a mushroom providing guidance and tutions for their entrance exams. As an Indian family prospect to grow and wanted to earn more income, it was necessary for them to excel in their entrance examinations. In terms of student coaching, they have to choose between contact study or contactless study packages. In contact study packages, most of the teaching is done through conducting classroom programs i.e. through teachers giving physical lectures in presence of aspirants. Meanwhile, the contactless study is generally done through online mediums with the teacher guiding their docents, either giving live demonstrations or publishing recorded content giving them the convenience to watch whenever they can. A recent market survey done by Catguruji, who specialises in giving guidance for CAT exams required for entry in IIMs concluded that " aspirants are more inclined to online courses rather than offline classroom courses ". Furthermore, "most of the aspirants aspiring for IIMs are from a lower middle-class background most of them are earning, prepare for the CAT exam after their daily job" he added. Hence, online mediums can give them the option to prepare for the exams while simultaneously working alongside their daily bread. The disadvantage of the online mode might be the non-personal interaction between their guide and aspirants but enrolling in such courses is costly. Furthermore, the cost of creating such courses accounts for the salary of the staff and establishments which is negligible in the online mediums. As the advantages of online mediums outweigh their disadvantages, hence it is popular among aspirants as it gives convenience with low-cost alternatives to an offline mode of study.