Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a well-known fact that the younger generation nowadays tends to spend a lot of their time using mobile phones. This essay outlines the reasons for such a trend and explains with a few examples why this is detrimental in the long run. Firstly, as to the reasons why young people spend hours on smartphones, there are many of them. The most common reason is that parents do not want their children to go out to play but just stay indoors because of fear of risks, such as bad company, contagious infections, distractions from being focused on studies etc. So, they let their children stay at home, providing them with a phone for entertainment. For example, my younger brother, can't go out because my parents are afraid that he'll be kidnapped, so they give him a phone and keep him at home all day, playing games. Consequently, this is a negative development even though some people think it is good. Smartphones easily distract children from learning, make them prone to autism, and myopia and most of all, they will be exposed to socially toxic ideas like curse words on social networks or when using the phone. As a result, they learn to swear which is bad language, and they could also take the path of crime - either white-collar or the heinous variety. In conclusion, youngsters use smartphones because of many reasons but the main cause is that their parents use these devices to manipulate and control their wards' behaviour. This is harmful because modern cell phones make them learn anti-social ideas and develop diseases.