Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for example working for charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to young children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some people still argued that volunteer work should be mandatory on teenagers who study at school or university, because it will be useful to society. In my opinion,I completely disagree with this view. In this essay both statements will be discussed and given some reasons to support my opinion. I think that the addition of mandatory public works has some disadvantages. Firstly, volunteering would take up most of the time, as the result students will not have enough time to their homework. In other words, their academic performance will going down.They can loose motivation to take part in voluntary activities such as promoting the neighborhood or training kids. For example, if students spend a lot of time on such extracurricular activities and their academic performance decreases, they will try to avoid them. On the other hand, people believe that if children will take part in such compulsory program it will improve their social skills an knowledge about global problems. For example, if schools add volunteering as a mandatory program, one of the young minds will be able to find a solution to any problem of humanity. In other words, it will help a person to take a step into a better future. In conclusion, including social service to the training program will bring advantages to the younger generation and improve their practical knowledge. However, in my opinion students should be given the freedom of choice; due to the reason volunteer work would be useful if children truly want to be a part of it.