Some people believe longer prison sentences will reduce crimes , others think that there are better ways of doing this . Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this contemporary world, most countries see an increase in crime rates. Thus, the best way to solve this is by administering imprisonment for a longer time. But, some believe that this is too cruel and there are better ways to tackle this problem. Therefore, this essay will first discuss why people should be punished for their wrong actions and then, the other methods to reduce crime rates. To begin with, it is important that the law court take into account the severity of the criminal case and then, punish individuals for what they have committed. Here, in the case of a serial killer, he should be sentenced to life imprisonment and capital punishment. Consequently, this could act as a warning to other criminals to think before they engage in extreme activities. Further, it is necessary to punish such humans in order to prevail in peace in society and make them feel safe. For example, a recent survey conducted in Dhaka has shown that awarding a longer judgement of 16 years for sexual assault has led to a decrease in sexual harassment cases. Despite these arguments, there are alternative ways to reduce criminal activities. This is because nobody is born a criminal. Hence, the government can step in and solve this problem by providing basic needs such as food and education. As a result, this will reduce the number of thieves and gradually reduce all criminal activities. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly believe that punishments should be given to crime cases with a higher degree in order to protect the community. Nevertheless, the government should ensure every citizen's basic needs like tertiary education and modern health services are met so that this will deduct the guilty rates.