Examine the arguments in favour and against animal experiments, and come to a conclusion on this issue. You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The ability to experiment on live animals has become a huge asset to science, especially in fields that regard medicine and biology. It is also known that in those particular fields, many experiments are not conducted safely for the animals. I will analyze some major points both in favour and against those methods in order to conclude whether they are legitimate in the context of ethics and necessary development. Regarding the ethics factor, some experiments cause severe side-effects to the animals, both mentally and physically. Multiple cosmetic brands, for instance, have been exposed for testing their products on monkeys and rabbits in very inhuman ways, causing them pain, agony and permanent damages such as blindness. In some cases, the experiments can even be fatal. Animals are, of course, living creatures, therefore such acts of cruelty should not be acceptable, especially for purposes that are not absolutely vital for human kind. On the other hand, there are cases where testing is mandatory to ensure that some products are safe to use before releasing them to the market. In such cases, unfortunately, testing said products is unavoidable, and scientists have only two options; experimenting either on humans or other living beings. For pharmacy laboratories, it is part of the process to test different versions of new medicine over and over again in order to find out how their formulas connect to potential results and side effects. It would surely be extremely unsafe to use human specimens for the early stages of developing new medicine so using animals instead is sometimes the only way to go. Overall, I believe that animal testing is not ethically ideal, but it is sometimes the only feasible solution to covering the need of scientific experimenting. It should be pointed out that animal suffering should be avoided at all costs, or at least minimized.