In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a personal DNA test is increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer.

All Human being characteristics are intertwined in genetic materials that are transmitted by chromosomes from our parents. Our phenotype and many inherited diseases, especially cancers and inborn error of metabolism diseases can be detected by checking DNA sequences; that is called genetic mapping. There are controversies about the pros and cons aspects of this trend. On the one hand, awareness of genetic mapping can discover the chance and probability of expression of many ailments. For example, early detection of a cancer suppressor gene which is called P53 and located on the short arm of the 6th autosomal chromosome can envisage the happening of prostate cancer in males. therefore men who have the gene can measure some trends, such as dietary restrictions and regular follow-ups to prevent or early detection of cancer. Therefore, genetic mapping can advance survival. On the other hand, understanding genetic mapping and DNA sequence which may predict the chance of acquiring cancer or fatal diseases, produce the high level of stress and possible over-treatment. For instance, some female celebrities have done preventive mastectomies due to the detection of breast cancer gene 2 in recent years. This may be over-treatment because it is not 100% accurate in the early diagnosis of tumours. This trend increases the cost and stress for people. To sum up, taking personal DNA mapping is a two-edged sword. In my opinion, in selected persons with a family history of cancer or genetic, diseases this test may be helpful and cost-effective.