Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement? 22 minutes passed, 10;39

Promoting arts and culture at the cost of public services is not a wise decision. Many people argue that government should prioritise public needs as the first priority. Investing in arts and culture is not a wise decision. Let's discuss this view in detail. Firstly, Public services should be prioritised first as the population needs good infrastructure like roads, electricity etc. If a country has good infrastructure then the economy will get boosted and people will be motivated to improve their living standards. However public services spending needs to be done wisely by the government. For,instance a country like India which is the 2nd most populous country should prioritise its spending on public services instead of promoting arts and culture. Since Indian culture is so rich and diverse it became imperative to ignore its importance in daily life. But India is a developing economy it should focus on working on economic development. Secondly, Promoting music and theatre is also important as it displays how rich the culture is. As a, kid I feel amazed when I see cultural performances in school and theatre. Arts and culture are our heritage and they should be preserved. For instance countries like India which has a rich cultural heritage must preserve its culture and arts. Government should work on promoting culture but that must be carefully considered keeping in mind priorities for a sustainable economy.As it really boils down to budget or fund priorities. Government should not ignore the importance of arts and music. In conclusion, I agree with the point of view that government should not overspend on arts and culture. It should keep in mind the priorities of the working population's needs and aspirations and should focus on building infrastructure.