Nations should spend more money on skills and vocational training for practical work, rather than on university education. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In this day and age, it is believed/argued that the government should invest money in skills training or vocational school rather than in universities. While I agree that vocational training is crucial, I firmly believe that university education should not be overlooked. On the one hand, skills or vocational courses can bring quick benefits to the person who chooses them. Firstly, after finishing the courses, people should have exposure and careful preparation for their chosen profession. This is mainly because going straight to the actual learning program and applying the knowledge immediately to real simulation cases will help them to have hands-on experiences. Secondly, it is more time-saving and economical to attend a vocational course. In other words, these courses usually last for a short time with a reasonable tuition fee. For example, it takes about 2 to 3 years for vocational training in Vietnam instead of about 4 to 6 years for university education. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that university education has enormous benefits. To begin with, the people who finished university programs would have more/greater career opportunities. One of the main reasons is that after graduating, students will have a degree in their major. This is one of the conditions to select candidates for most businesses today. Moreover, the people who choose university education will have more knowledge. It is because university students have more time to gain profound knowledge in their field of study. This will give them more opportunities to continue learning to develop their expertise in the future. For instance, if one wants to study for a Master’s (degree) in their major, one need a university degree. In conclusion, although skill and vocational training courses may have certain benefits, it is my firm belief that university education should not be forgotten.