Some people argued that history is of little or no use. Others believe that studying history give many benefits. Discuss those views and give your own opinion?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over historical benefits. While some claim that absorbing insights from history brings a flood of advantages, the opposite holds a strong view that history is useless. While the latter is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, historical stories can also serve to inspire individuals to greatness. Looking back on our forefathers' heroes to achieve the freedom we have today makes us more understanding and proud of our country. For example, the Ho Chi Minh president brought peace and independence to Vietnam. Thanks to history, everyone, especially youngsters, could be motivated to put great effort into studying and continuously preserving valuable achievements of our forefathers. Therefore, the benefits that history brings about are immense for all citizens. While the merits of history are widely acknowledged, some people hold that history places an insignificant role in current life. In this day and age, myriads of traditional customs which were common in the past are outdated and no longer suitable for modern society. For instance, in the old days, women used to stay at home to take care of their family and were not respected. On the other hand, for the time being, there are numerous successful females in their career path. Specifically, Mrs. Hillary Clinton can run for the President of the United States like any man. Hence, a wealth of prejudices in history are no longer relevant in today's life. To sum up, history is still of great importance to humans, but we need to eliminate the unsuitable customs as well as promote good traditional values.