Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than show the cultures or artworks of other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that instead of displaying artwork from other nations, museums and art exhibitions should focus on local work. I completely disagree with this because introducing a variety of global art masterpieces brings significant benefits to society and individuals, and closing the door for foreign artwork will only result in a narrow-minded audience. While art displays exclusively on domestic work allow citizens to better understand their culture, it is indeed detrimental because it runs the risk of making the audience excessively close-minded. As history has shown, economic success is typically the result of cultural fusion and technological advancement. Therefore, we can’t afford the cost of keeping to ourselves in the field of art and not exchanging ideas with the outside world. If we valued solely local artwork which we put on display, artists like Da Vinci, who frequently found inspiration from foreign art, would quickly run out of creativity. Furthermore, domestic viewers who have access to only native art might develop highly restricted mindsets and reject different yet constructive ideas, which could jeopardize the advancement of a country. More significantly, displaying artwork overseas enables the general public to experience a variety of cultures and attract more visitors. For example, the majority of Chinese students first learn about the U.S. by viewing a picture of the Statue of Liberty in a history textbook. Students intrigued by the image are keen to learn valuable lessons about not only American but also French culture, for things like private property and personal freedom. As a result, displaying international artwork encourages the locals to be more open-minded. Furthermore, foreign art exhibitions will attract a large number of visitors interested in various cultures, which could be a wonderful financial booster for increased revenue. In conclusion, I think museums should exhibit both indigenous and foreign artistic styles so that people can benefit much from cultural fusion and society would become more open in the long run.