Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. what are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Large-scale and unplanned urbanization, a recent phenomenon has created several problems for both individuals and nations. Due to this, it has become a challenging task for the countries to manage. This is caused by the migration of people from rural to urban areas and the drastic growth of slums. However, this issue can be mitigated by taking some effective measures. To commence with, the main reason for the growth of cities is the migration of a large number of people from villages in search of job opportunities and better amenities. For instance, the arrival of about five-hundred people every hour in the Indian city of Bombay. Though cities are centres of art, commerce, education, fashion and trade, they attract people from all walks of life providing them with livelihood. As a remedial measure, the key solution is improving the conditions of life of villagers by delocalization of business and industry. Moreover, priority-based actions by statutory bodies to improve educational and healthcare facilities can make life better. With regard to the growth of slums, there are numerous cities in the world with a population of more than ten million people. Finding enough decent accommodation for everyone in a big city is an arduous task which ultimately gives birth to slums. To cite an example, in several parts of Asia, slums have been created by underprivileged people in large numbers with hardly any amenities. These slums become major centres of crime. However, decentralization of industry and business can answer the challenges of overcrowding and slums. To recapitulate, higher authorities should tackle the problem of overpopulation by focusing more on the development of rural areas. So, migration to cities will cease to become inevitable.